My notable Australian John Pascoe Faulkner

JOHN PASCOE FAWKNER

 When John Pascoe was a kid he was exiled to this place

Because his dad got caught with gold, but the robber walked away 

So dad and mum and Liz and John all sailed out to this land

And landed down near Portsea but the place they couldn’t stand.

When everyone got sick and they had no food to eat 

The government, the guy up top realised that things were bleak

So he said to them pack up your tents your leaving this here hole 

I’m sending you south further down, will be called the apple isle

And so they sailed down to the place where Elizabeth met Richard

They married and they had 9 kids and became my 3rd Great granddad

But Johnny was adventurous and set of once again 

Across the strait and landed then, right in Hobsons Bay 

They settled on the Yarra ‘twas the village for a spot! 

He built a pub for drinking in and wrote news and what not,

When Melbourne town was   running well just like the Yarra River

Well John he joined the parliament his speeches made them quiver

When Batman claimed that Melbourne’s site was right where he had put it 

then John said mate that’s funny because I was already in it! ‘

So Batman went to Faulkner’s pub and ordered up an ale,

And John packed up his suit case and moved to Pascoe Vale,

And then when John the Honourable passed on to his reward 

All Melbourne stopped to thank him and gave him such accord

But it was odd for in his life some thought he was a rogue 

But once he died they honoured him and stood along the road

And so today my friends, I give you, my notable Australian 

The famous J P Faulkner,my 3rd great grand uncle and founder of Melbourne

So if you like where Melbourne is you may thank me as well! 

But if you think its to far south then you can!   ………….

                    keep it to your self.!

 Bleggy

 

2 thoughts on “My notable Australian John Pascoe Faulkner

  1. Hi Bleggy, thanks for the prose. Loved it, particularly because he is also my 3rd great granduncle! Regards Pauline Godkin (nee Bland).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *